The Southern United States—commonly referred to as the American South, Dixie, or simply the South—is a region of the United States of America.

The South does not exactly match the geographic south, but is predominantly located in the south-eastern corner; Arizona and New Mexico, which are geographically in the southern part of the country, are rarely considered part of the Southern United States, while West Virginia commonly is. Some scholars have proposed definitions of the South that do not coincide neatly with state boundaries.

Usually, the South is defined as including the south-eastern and south-central United States. The region is known for its culture and history, having developed its own customs, musical styles, and cuisines, which have distinguished it in some ways from the rest of the United States. The Southern ethnic heritage is diverse and includes strong European (mostly English, Irish, Scotch-Irish and Scottish), African, and some Native American components.

Some other aspects of the historical and cultural development of the South have been influenced by an early support for the doctrine of states’ rights, the institution of slave labor on plantations in the Lower South to an extent seen nowhere else in the United States. In more modern times, however, the South has become the most integrated region of the country.

The unmistakable character and cultural heritage of the Deep South makes for one of the most fascinating places to visit in the United States. Southern hospitality is justifiably famous, as is the variety of music, literary heritage and mouth-watering cuisine. Make a stop in Charleston, South Carolina’s oldest city; experience true southern comfort in Savanah; explore lively New Orleans for its music, food and rich history; and don’t forget about Memphis, birthplace of the blues and home of Graceland.
For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information, click here.