Canada is the world’s second-largest country, stretching across six time zones from Newfoundland to the Pacific seaboard.

The most populous areas centre around the Great Lakes – St. Lawrence River lowlands, meaning there’s plenty of room left for its endless skies, untouched landscapes, mammoth mountains and sweeping plains – all teeming with wildlife and rich in cultural tradition.

Eastern Canada (also the Eastern provinces) is generally considered to be the region of Canada east of Manitoba, consisting of the following provinces:
• New Brunswick
• Newfoundland and Labrador
• Nova Scotia
• Ontario
• Prince Edward Island
• Quebec

Ontario and Quebec define Central Canada, while the other provinces constitute Atlantic Canada. Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island are also known as the Maritime Provinces.
Cosmopolitan Toronto is a city with a rich multicultural heritage known for its soaring futuristic architecture, and summer cultural festivals along the harbour front.

In contrast, the fortified 400-year-old Quebec City is reminiscent of Paris: cobbled streets, pavement artists, brassieres busy with diners and window boxes billowing with flowers. Follow the river to the Gulf of St. Lawrence and you’ll discover the charms of Prince Edward Island and the unrivalled natural beauty of Nova Scotia’s Cabot Trail.

For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information, click here.