Prices from: £1463 BOOK TODAY

Wonders of the Western Cape

Duration 10 days

Destinations visited :
  • South Africa
    ,

No, you’re not dreaming, the incredible beauty of the Western Cape is part of its charm. From the eclectic streets of Cape Town to the wild nature of Cape Agulhas and the Garden Route Game Reserve, you’ll be living out your dream as you dive in to the culture, landscapes and lifestyle of this region.

Take a look at your day-by-day itinerary or contact us on 0207 620 8952 to find out more.

DAY 1

Arrive Cape Town (2 Nights)
Aweh (hey), Cape Town! Before exploring all the magnificent sights, sounds and flavours of the city, you’ll meet up with your Costsaver representative at the airport and be transferred to your hotel in the heart of the city. You’re staying in the midst of the buzz, so make the most of your time exploring before joining your Travel Director and fellow travellers for a Welcome Dinner and trip briefing.
Hotel: Protea Fire and Ice
Meal: Dinner

DAY 2

Cape Town Orientation and Free Time
Ready for an exhilarating day, Cape Town style? Kick things off by exploring the suburb of Bo-Kaap, where rainbow-hued houses and facades turn the streets into works of art. Get your first dose of nature during a visit to the Company Gardens, before taking a spin around the 17th-century Castle of Good Hope. Then, leave the city below to catch a ride up Table Mountain, where the local furry residents (hyraxes) are the only things that may steal your attention from the view. Later, check out the golden beaches of the area on an optional e-bike ride, followed by a sunset beach braai (barbecue). For the musically-inclined, consider jamming your way through a djembe drumming session, followed by a delicious and traditional African feast.
Meal: Breakfast

DAY 3

Cape Town – Hermanus (1 Night)
Put away your camera and just enjoy the ride as you wind your way along one of South Africa’s most awe inspiring drives from Cape Town to Hermanus. The Hottentots Holland mountains plunge dramatically into the Atlantic for most of the route, so you’ll want to simply stare out over the epic scenery. Arrive in Hermanus and enjoy lunch with stunning views of the ocean. Then, hit the water on an Optional sea kayaking experience in Walker Bay or unleash your inner wine connoisseur on a visit to a renowned vineyard in the aptly named Hemel-en-Aarde (Heaven-and-Earth) Valley.
Hotel: Windsor
Meal: Breakfast,Lunch

DAY 4

Hermanus – Garden Route Game Reserve (2 Nights)
The one thought on everyone’s minds today: will you spot the Big 5? Before heading into the wild, expect to be wowed by the swirling waters of the southern most tip of Africa, Cape Agulhas, where the Indian Ocean collides with the Atlantic. Then, get your game face on for your safari adventure at the Garden Route Game Reserve, keeping your eyes peeled for the wonders of the African bushveld-glimpses of impala, zebra and giraffe are highly likely.
Hotel: Garden Route Game Lodge
Meal: Breakfast,Dinner

DAY 5

Garden Route Game Reserve Safari Day
Rise with the Cape turtle doves and let their songs kickstart another magnificent day in South Africa. We’ll get out into the bush early to avoid the heat of the day, so after grabbing a cup of coffee, don your safari hat for a morning adventure through the fynbos-clad landscape in search of wildlife. You may be lucky enough to spot lions lazing in the shade of a tree, Buffalo weavers stripping the trees to craft their nests or perhaps even a lonely dung beetle rolling his ‘treasure’ uphill. Return to camp for a hearty breakfast and afternoon siesta to recharge, before grabbing your binoculars for another safari late this afternoon.
Meal: Breakfast,Dinner

DAY 6

Garden Route Game Reserve – Knysna (2 Nights)
You don’t need green fingers to enjoy South Africa’s lush Garden Route. Take a quick side trip to Victoria Bay and stretch your legs or soak in its refreshing salty waters. Your next stop is a bit of a tongue-twister. Knysna, pronounced ‘Naaisnah’ (the ‘k’ is silent), sits sheltered on the edge of a lagoon, shielded from the Indian Ocean by two mountainous outcrops, referred to as the Knysna Heads. With the rest of the day to do as you choose, perhaps opt to join a guided walk through lush, flora dense forests where hundreds of elephants once roamed. Or, if you want to relax until the evening, why not join a sunset dinner cruise on board a traditional paddle steamer, that will sail you along the tranquil waters of the lagoon.
Hotel: Protea Knysna Quays
Meal: Breakfast

DAY 7

Knsyna Free Day
You’ll be grateful for an extra day to explore Knysna your way today. There’s plenty to do in this pretty town and its surrounds, but we’d recommend joining our boat ride across the Knysna Lagoon, to Featherbed Nature Reserve. Once here, buckle up and enjoy a 4X4 ride along the western headland, stopping along the appreciate the contrast of the bright blue sea, sandy beaches and lush green headlands. If a slower pace is more your vibe, take a stroll down Sedgefield beach with a Local Guide to learn about the Strandlopers, who once roamed these beaches to gather food.
Meal: Breakfast,Dinner

DAY 8

Knysna – Cape Town (2 Nights)
End your epic journey in South Africa’s Fairest Cape the same way you started it, in what locals call the “Mother City”. You’ll return to Cape Town this morning, stopping in Swellendam, the third-oldest town in South Africa. The centre of a large farming community, Swellendam is particularly renowned for its Cape Dutch architecture – whitewashed walls, thatched roofs and the characteristic gable which makes them unmistakably Dutch in heritage.
Hotel: Protea Fire and Ice
Meal: Breakfast

DAY 9

Cape Town Free Day
Get your final fix of Cape Town with a full day to spend your way. If you want to relax, consider kicking back at a craft beer tasting experience and tucking in to a beach braai (barbecue) at Blaauwberg Nature Reserve. Keen to fit in one last adventure? Why not explore the rugged Cape Peninsula coastline, passing the Twelve Apostles, Cape Point and Boulders Beach to check out the colony of African Jackass penguins. However you choose to enjoy the day, you’ll have plenty of stories to share over our final dinner.
Meal: Breakfast,Dinner

DAY 10

Depart Cape Town
The time has come to say totsiens (until we see each other again) as you prepare to return home after your soul-stirring visit to South Africa’s fairest Cape. All that’s left is to plan for your return as you transfer to Cape Town International Airport for your flight home.
Meal: Breakfast

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Cape Town City orientation tour and Table Mountain visit
  • Garden Route Game Reserve Three game drives in safari vehicles
  • Hermanus Visit the whale watching capital of South Africa
  • Knysna Explore the Knysna Quays area

Dining Highlights

  • 9 Breakfasts
  • 1 Lunch
  • 5 Dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets Provided throughout your holiday to enhance your included sightseeing experiences
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Variety of Optional Experiences
  • City orientation tours
  • An expert Travel Director and separate driver
  • All hotel service charges and tips, baggage handling fees and local taxes
  • Airport transfers are provided on the first and last travel day. Conditions apply. Please refer to the price panel.
Ship details coming soon
Twin/Double Room
(price per person)
Definite Departure
What's this?
Offers Book Now!
Sat 06 Aug 2022 Mon 15 Aug 2022 £1,475
Sat 10 Sep 2022 Mon 19 Sep 2022 £1,625
£1462.5
Save £162.50
Sat 24 Sep 2022 Mon 03 Oct 2022 £1,625
£1462.5
Save £162.50
Sat 08 Oct 2022 Mon 17 Oct 2022 £1,625
Sat 22 Oct 2022 Mon 31 Oct 2022 £1,625
Sat 12 Nov 2022 Mon 21 Nov 2022 £1,625
Sat 26 Nov 2022 Mon 05 Dec 2022 £1,625
Sat 10 Dec 2022 Mon 19 Dec 2022 £1,650
Sat 17 Dec 2022 Mon 26 Dec 2022 £1,650
Sat 14 Jan 2023 Mon 23 Jan 2023 £1,725
Sat 28 Jan 2023 Mon 06 Feb 2023 £1,725
Sat 11 Feb 2023 Mon 20 Feb 2023 £1,725
Sat 25 Feb 2023 Mon 06 Mar 2023 £1,725
Sat 11 Mar 2023 Mon 20 Mar 2023 £1,725
Sat 25 Mar 2023 Mon 03 Apr 2023 £1,725
Sat 08 Apr 2023 Mon 17 Apr 2023 £1,725
Sat 22 Apr 2023 Mon 01 May 2023 £1,725
Sat 13 May 2023 Mon 22 May 2023 £1,550
Sat 27 May 2023 Mon 05 Jun 2023 £1,550
Sat 10 Jun 2023 Mon 19 Jun 2023 £1,550
Sat 24 Jun 2023 Mon 03 Jul 2023 £1,550
Sat 08 Jul 2023 Mon 17 Jul 2023 £1,550
Sat 22 Jul 2023 Mon 31 Jul 2023 £1,550
Sat 05 Aug 2023 Mon 14 Aug 2023 £1,550
Sat 19 Aug 2023 Mon 28 Aug 2023 £1,550
Sat 09 Sep 2023 Mon 18 Sep 2023 £1,750
Sat 23 Sep 2023 Mon 02 Oct 2023 £1,750
Sat 07 Oct 2023 Mon 16 Oct 2023 £1,750
Sat 21 Oct 2023 Mon 30 Oct 2023 £1,750
Sat 11 Nov 2023 Mon 20 Nov 2023 £1,750
Sat 25 Nov 2023 Mon 04 Dec 2023 £1,750
Sat 09 Dec 2023 Mon 18 Dec 2023 £1,750

Contact an expert travel consultant today
for more information or to make a booking

0207 620 8952

Make an enquiry online

Come in and see us: 79 York Road, London, SE1 7NJ


Alternative itineraries and tailor-made trips available.


All prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All information is correct at time of going live, however are subject to change – please confirm all details at time of booking.

All fares are per guest in GBP based on double occupancy unless otherwise noted.

Prices are capacity controlled and are subject to change at any time without notice.

Special offers are subject to availability and can be withdrawn at any time.

For full terms and conditions, please refer to our Terms of Use page.

Could you save more?

Check if you are entitled to additional discounts and savings!

Contact here for more details

Wonders of the Western Cape

No, you’re not dreaming, the incredible beauty of the Western Cape is part of its charm. From the eclectic streets of Cape Town to the wild nature of Cape Agulhas and the Garden Route Game Reserve, you’ll be living out your dream as you dive in to the culture, landscapes and lifestyle of this region.

Categories: , .