Prices from: £1616 BOOK TODAY

Colours of Sicily

Duration 9 days

Destinations visited :
  • Italy
    ,

Sicily’s vibrant palette of colours comes alive on this Colours of Sicily trip. Sip local wine on the slopes of Mount Etna, wander the chic streets of Taormina and meet the locals in colourful fishing villages. Top it all off with a sweet treat – all the Modican chocolate you can lay your hands on.

Take a look at your day-by-day itinerary or contact us on 0207 620 8952 to find out more.

DAY 1

Arrive Catania
The slopes of Mount Etna are never far when you stroll around Catania. Like a simmering pot, Europe’s most active volcano doesn’t stay asleep for long, blowing its top in all its magma magnificence regularly. You’ll start your Sicilian journey in the city that lies in its shadow, spending your first day exploring on your own before meeting your Travel Director and fellow travellers for a Welcome Reception. There’s free time to savour the city’s celebrated gastronomic talents and history as a leading Renaissance centre before you embark on your adventure.
Hotel: NH Centro
Meal: Welcome Reception

DAY 2

Catania – Taormina (Giardini Naxos) (3 Nights)
Begin your day with a guided sightseeing tour. Your ‘Local Specialist’ will delve into the history and culture of this ancient port city, including a visit to Basilica Cattedrale Sant’Agata which you’ll have an opportunity to explore on your own. Take a leisurely stroll through Giardino Bellini, one of Italy’s most exquisite public gardens with incredible vistas of Catania and Mount Etna. Continue to Taormina, once a highlight along Europe’s Grand Tour. Here you’ll have an afternoon to spend at your leisure.
Hotel: Caesar Palace
Meal: Breakfast

DAY 3

Taormina Sightseeing
Sea views and sun-kissed pastel façades feature along your sightseeing tour with a ‘Local Specialist’ this morning. Before the stylish cafés and luxury boutiques lined Corso Umberto I, the ancient Greeks chose the perfect spot to plant their theatre over 2,500 years ago. You’ll have an opportunity to explore the well-preserved ruins of the Teatro Antico di Taormina, imagining how captivating the theatrical performances would have had to be to pull the attention of the audience away from the glistening bay beyond. This evening, the slopes of Mount Etna provide a dramatic backdrop for an exclusive ‘Be My Guest’ dinner with Maria Marano. ‘Connect With Locals’ as you take a walking tour through the estate and cellars and enjoy the flavours from secret family recipes.
Meal: Breakfast,Be My Guest

DAY 4

Taormina Free Day
Indulge in a full free day to explore Taormina on your own. Wherever your exploration takes you, don’t miss a chance to sample some of the famous Sicilian granita served with a piping hot brioche. You could choose instead to join your fellow travellers for an Optional Experience to Mount Etna and Savoca. You’ll see first-hand why this Sicilian hilltop village was chosen as a backdrop for scenes from The Godfather, before you return to Taormina. This evening, maybe choose to join a traditional Sicilian dinner in Castelmola, perched picturesquely above Sicily’s stunning coastline.
Meal: Breakfast

DAY 5

Taormina – Syracuse
Once a major Mediterranean power and the birthplace of Archimedes, the historic city of Syracuse takes centre stage today as you join your ‘Local Specialist’ for in-depth insights into its colourful past. In its heyday, the city was described as ‘the greatest Greek city and the most beautiful of them all’. Today remnants of its magnificent past are revealed in the ancient Roman amphitheatre and the Temple of Apollo. You’ll see some of its treasures at the Archaeological Museum, then visit the island of Ortygia, the ancient heart of the city connected to the mainland by a stone bridge you’ll cross on foot. Among the many highlights of the Città Vecchia (Old City), is the beautiful Baroque Cathedral of Syracuse, which has occupied pride of place, in one form or another, since 480 BC. This evening, you’ll enjoy dinner at your hotel.
Hotel: Mercure
Meal: Breakfast,Dinner

DAY 6

Syracuse – Modica – Ragusa – Agrigento
The aroma of roasted cocoa beans will linger long after your visit to a local chocolatier in Modica. Here you’ll ‘Dive Into Culture’ and learn the secrets of Modican chocolate, produced the same way the Aztecs once did thanks to the legacy left behind by Spanish conquistadors. Continue to Agrigento, stopping along the way in Ragusa, whose Duomo di San Giorgio, with its remarkable stained glass windows, stands out amongst a multitude of beautiful Baroque façades. Join a ‘Local Specialist’ later for a visit to the Valley of the Temples, a UNESCO-listed site featuring some of the world’s most treasured Greek art and architecture. Gain in-depth insights as you explore the world’s largest archaeological site, featuring seven temples dating as far back as the 5th century.
Hotel: Dioscuri Bay Palace
Meal: Breakfast

DAY 7

Agrigento – Erice – Mondello – Palermo (2 Nights)
A day of discovery awaits as you head to Palermo, stopping first in Erice where ancient and medieval come together in the ‘city of a hundred churches’. With its alleyways and pretty squares, palaces and castles, Erice is delightfully historic. Next on your journey is a visit to the pretty fishing village of Mondello, a favourite seaside retreat for the who’s who of Palermo. Soak up the holiday atmosphere along its lively seafront promenade before returning to Palermo for a free evening. You could choose instead to join an Optional Experience to Sferracavallo at the foot of Mount Capo Gallo for dinner.
Hotel: Garibaldi
Meal: Breakfast

DAY 8

Palermo Sightseeing
Palermo’s rich history, culture and gastronomy are revealed on this morning’s sightseeing tour with a ‘Local Specialist’, who will take you on a journey into the city’s tumultuous past. You’ll head to Monreale on the slopes of Monte Caputo where a ‘Local Specialist’ will join you on a tour of one of the greatest examples of Norman architecture, the 12th-century Cattedrale di Monreale, with its intricate gold mosaics. The afternoon is yours to get your final taste of Sicily. Take a stroll through the Piazza Bellini, at the heart of Palermo, or visit its honey-hued cathedral, before joining your Travel Director and fellow travellers for a rousing Farewell Dinner.
Meal: Breakfast,Farewell Dinner

DAY 9

Depart Palermo
Your journey through Sicily has come to an end. All that’s left is to say a fond farewell to new friends and take your airport transfer for your return journey home. Conditions apply.
Meal: Breakfast

Sightseeing Highlights

  • ORIENTATION of Agrigento
  • VISIT Basilica Cattedrale Sant’Agata, Giardino Bellini, the Greek Theatre in Taormina, the Syracuse Archaeological Museum, Ortygia, Ragusa, Valley of the Temples, Erice, Mondello, and the Monreale Norman Cathedral
  • VIEW Mt. Etna

Dining Highlights

  • 8 breakfasts
  • 4 dinners (including ‘Be My Guest’)

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and up to half your evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with Wi-Fi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • Handcrafted Highlights
  • VIP entry to many sights
Ship details coming soon
Twin/Double Room
(price per person)
Definite Departure
What's this?
Offers Book Now!
Sat 19 Jun 2021 Sun 27 Jun 2021 £1,895
£1705.5
Save £189.50 Closed
Sat 17 Jul 2021 Sun 25 Jul 2021 £1,895
£1705.5
Save £189.50 Closed
Sat 24 Jul 2021 Sun 01 Aug 2021 £1,895
£1705.5
Save £189.50 Closed
Sat 04 Sep 2021 Sun 12 Sep 2021 £1,950
£1755
Save £195.00 Closed
Sat 11 Sep 2021 Sun 19 Sep 2021 £1,950
£1755
Save £195.00
Sat 18 Sep 2021 Sun 26 Sep 2021 £1,950
£1755
Save £195.00
Sat 25 Sep 2021 Sun 03 Oct 2021 £1,895
£1705.5
Save £189.50
Sat 02 Oct 2021 Sun 10 Oct 2021 £1,895
£1705.5
Save £189.50
Sat 16 Oct 2021 Sun 24 Oct 2021 £1,795
£1615.5
Save £179.50
Sat 16 Apr 2022 Sun 24 Apr 2022 £1,850
£1618.75
Save £231.25
Sat 23 Apr 2022 Sun 01 May 2022 £2,128
£1862
Save £266.00
Sat 30 Apr 2022 Sun 08 May 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 07 May 2022 Sun 15 May 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 14 May 2022 Sun 22 May 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 21 May 2022 Sun 29 May 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 28 May 2022 Sun 05 Jun 2022 £2,156
£1886.5
Save £269.50
Sat 04 Jun 2022 Sun 12 Jun 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 11 Jun 2022 Sun 19 Jun 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 18 Jun 2022 Sun 26 Jun 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 25 Jun 2022 Sun 03 Jul 2022 £2,128
£1862
Save £266.00
Sat 02 Jul 2022 Sun 10 Jul 2022 £1,850
£1618.75
Save £231.25
Sat 09 Jul 2022 Sun 17 Jul 2022 £1,850
£1618.75
Save £231.25
Sat 16 Jul 2022 Sun 24 Jul 2022 £1,850
£1618.75
Save £231.25
Sat 23 Jul 2022 Sun 31 Jul 2022 £1,850
£1618.75
Save £231.25
Sat 30 Jul 2022 Sun 07 Aug 2022 £2,243
£1962.63
Save £280.37
Sat 06 Aug 2022 Sun 14 Aug 2022 £1,950
£1706.25
Save £243.75
Sat 13 Aug 2022 Sun 21 Aug 2022 £1,950
£1706.25
Save £243.75
Sat 20 Aug 2022 Sun 28 Aug 2022 £1,950
£1706.25
Save £243.75
Sat 27 Aug 2022 Sun 04 Sep 2022 £1,950
£1706.25
Save £243.75
Sat 03 Sep 2022 Sun 11 Sep 2022 £1,895
£1658.13
Save £236.87
Sat 10 Sep 2022 Sun 18 Sep 2022 £1,895
£1658.13
Save £236.87
Sat 17 Sep 2022 Sun 25 Sep 2022 £1,895
£1658.13
Save £236.87
Sat 24 Sep 2022 Sun 02 Oct 2022 £1,895
£1658.13
Save £236.87
Sat 01 Oct 2022 Sun 09 Oct 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 08 Oct 2022 Sun 16 Oct 2022 £2,156
£1886.5
Save £269.50
Sat 15 Oct 2022 Sun 23 Oct 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37
Sat 22 Oct 2022 Sun 30 Oct 2022 £1,875
£1640.63
Save £234.37

Contact an expert travel consultant today
for more information or to make a booking

0207 620 8952

Make an enquiry online

Come in and see us: 79 York Road, London, SE1 7NJ


Alternative itineraries and tailor-made trips available.


All prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All information is correct at time of going live, however are subject to change – please confirm all details at time of booking.

All fares are per guest in GBP based on double occupancy unless otherwise noted.

Prices are capacity controlled and are subject to change at any time without notice.

Special offers are subject to availability and can be withdrawn at any time.

For full terms and conditions, please refer to our Terms of Use page.

Could you save more?

Check if you are entitled to additional discounts and savings!

Contact here for more details

Colours of Sicily

Sicily’s vibrant palette of colours comes alive on this Colours of Sicily trip. Sip local wine on the slopes of Mount Etna, wander the chic streets of Taormina and meet the locals in colourful fishing villages. Top it all off with a sweet treat – all the Modican chocolate you can lay your hands on.

Categories: , , .