Prices from: £2825 BOOK TODAY

Best of France

Duration 13 days

Destinations visited :
  • France
    ,
  • Monaco
    ,

Expect only the best on one of our favourite France trips, beginning and ending in Paris. Spend the night as a French lord or lady in an elegant Loire Valley château, be as inspired as Cézanne was by the beauty of Provence and visit the playground of Monaco.

Take a look at your day-by-day itinerary or contact us on 0207 620 8952 to find out more.

DAY 1

Arrive Paris
All the flavours of France come to life on this unforgettable journey, which kicks off in Paris, the City of Lights. Spend your day strolling past its iconic landmarks in search of hidden treasures, before joining your fellow travellers and Travel Director for a Welcome Reception and an orientation drive through the city.
Hotel: Mercure 17 Batignolles
Meal: Welcome Reception

DAY 2

Paris – Beaune – Lyon
We travel south to Burgundy, past the Côte d’Or vineyards of Gevrey-Chambertin and Nuits St. Georges. The colourful geometric roof tiles of the 15th-century Hospices are a sight to behold as we arrive in the medieval town of Beaune before continuing to Lyon, the gourmet capital of France. Consider spending your evening delving into the epicurean delights for which Lyon is justifiably famous.
Hotel: Novotel Gerland
Meal: Buffet Breakfast

DAY 3

Lyon – Avignon – Monaco – French Riviera (2 Nights)
We stop in the heart of Provence and the city of Avignon, once the Papal Seat in the 14th century. See the Papal Palace and the bridge made famous in the song – Sur le pont d’Avignon. Journeying through the fields of Provence, immortalised in the great works of such artists as Van Gogh and Cézanne, we arrive in the sophisticated Principality of Monaco, where we will view the cathedral where Prince Rainier and Princess Grace were married. This evening, we enjoy a Regional Meal in Monaco before arriving at our hotel.
Hotel: Best Western Plus Massena/Montaigne & Spa
Meal: Buffet Breakfast,Regional Meal

DAY 4

French Riviera Free Day
The sun-kissed shores of the French Riviera are yours to explore today. Consider relaxing on the beach with your fellow sun-worshippers or an Optional Experience could see you visit the hilltop town of Saint-Paul-de-Vence, a popular haunt for actors seeking a relaxing retreat. In your free time, you have the opportunity to soak up the fresh sea air and perhaps indulge in delicious Salade Niçoise.
Meal: Buffet Breakfast

DAY 5

French Riviera – Arles – Carcassonne
Visit Arles with its honey-coloured façades, Roman ruins and Camargue culture, and enjoy some time at leisure to explore this beautiful city. Alternatively, choose an Optional Experience to gain a deeper understanding of Vincent Van Gogh and local history with our resident expert before winding your way to the fortified city of Carcassonne. Join a Local Specialist to explore this exquisite ancient town, view the Cité, and see the double ring of ramparts and 52 towers.
Hotel: Mercure Porte De La Cité
Meal: Buffet Breakfast,Dinner with wine

DAY 6

Carcassonne – Lourdes – Biarritz
We drive toward the Pyrenees this morning and arrive in Lourdes, the global centre of the Marian pilgrimage. You will have an opportunity to see the Basilica, perched atop St. Bernadette’s Grotto, where the young girl turned saint is said to have seen visions of the Virgin Mary. Then, travel west to the Basque Coast, where we spend the night.
Hotel: Radisson Blu
Meal: Buffet Breakfast

DAY 7

Biarritz – Bordeaux (2 Nights)
Journeying through Les Landes, we arrive in the wine capital of Bordeaux, whose stunning Garonne riverfront and age of Enlightenment history and architecture have made it one of France’s most visited cities. Bordeaux wine has been produced in the region since the 8th century and the bi-annual wine fair attracts buyers from all over the world. Spend some time seeing the sights during your orientation of the city.
Hotel: Novotel/Mercure Château Chartrons
Meal: Buffet Breakfast

DAY 8

Dordogne Excursion
The lush green valleys and hills of the Dordogne take centre stage today during a scenic half-day included excursion. We drive to Saint-Émilion, whose wine heritage dates back to Roman times and return to Bordeaux this evening for some free time to explore the city. Maybe, tease your taste-buds with delicious Bordelaise cuisine or stroll through the city’s historical centre admiring its beautiful architecture by night.
Meal: Buffet Breakfast

DAY 9

Bordeaux – Loire Valley
We journey through the Garden of France, before we ‘Connect With Locals’ for a delicious Be My Guest lunch. Carry on to visit the remarkable gardens at Château Villandry before we arrive at our special hotel for the night – one of Trafalgar’s ‘Stays With Stories’.
Hotel: Château de Beauvois
Meal: Buffet Breakfast,Lunch,Dinner with wine

DAY 10

Loire Valley – Mont St. Michel – Normandy Beaches
We travel through the patchwork landscapes of Brittany to the island settlement of Mont St. Michel on the Normandy coast, where we visit the island town and view its impressive Norman Benedictine Abbey. Follow the Liberty Highway to St. Lô and on to Omaha Beach. Reflect on the bravery of the young men who sacrificed their lives for freedom and visit the D-Day Landing Zone to learn how the operation was planned and executed. Arrive later at your hotel where you dine tonight.
Hotel: Mercure Omaha Beach
Meal: Buffet Breakfast,Dinner with wine

DAY 11

Normandy Beaches – Giverny – Paris (2 Nights)
We travel west towards Paris, stopping at Giverny to see the house and gardens that once inspired Claude Monet’s exquisite Impressionist works of art. This evening, consider a trip to one of the city’s renowned cabarets.
Hotel: Mercure 17 Batignolles
Meal: Buffet Breakfast

DAY 12

Paris Sightseeing and Free Time
Join your Local Specialist on a journey through the historic neighbourhoods of Paris to see where the locals live and shop. Visit the remarkable church of Saint-Sulpice. Spend the rest of the day enjoying the sights on your terms. See the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo at the Louvre, enjoy a leisurely café au lait in quiet surrounds or consider an Optional Experience to the opulent Palace of Versailles. This evening, we celebrate an epic adventure with your Travel Director and newfound friends at a Farewell Dinner.
Meal: Buffet Breakfast,Farewell Dinner

DAY 13

Depart Paris
For now it’s time to bid a fond au revoir to the Best of France and your fellow travellers at the end of a magical and memorable holiday. Airport transfers are available. Conditions apply.
Meal: Buffet Breakfast

Sightseeing Highlights

  • WALKING TOUR in Paris and Carcassonne with a Local Specialist
  • ORIENTATION of Paris, Beaune, Lyon, Avignon, Monaco, Nice, Arles, Lourdes and Bordeaux
  • VISIT the Hospices de Beaune, Chateau Villandry, D-Day Museum, Claude Monet’s home at Giverny and the Saint-Sulpice Church in Paris
  • VIEW the Papal Palace in Avignon, the Royal Palace and Cathedral in Monaco, Promenade des Anglais and Place Massena in Nice, St Bernadette’s Grotto in Lourdes, Esplanade des Quinconces in Bordeaux, the Abbey of Mont St. Michel, the D-Day Beach of Omaha in Normandy and Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris
  • SEE the Roman Amphitheatre and the Cathedral in Arles
  • SCENIC DRIVE through Dordogne and Loire Valley

Dining Highlights

  • 12 hot buffet breakfasts
  • 1 Be My Guest Lunch
  • 6 dinners with local wine

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights
Ship details coming soon
Twin/Double Room
(price per person)
Definite Departure
What's this?
Offers Book Now!
Sun 05 Jun 2022 Fri 17 Jun 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed Closed
Sun 19 Jun 2022 Fri 01 Jul 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed Closed
Sun 26 Jun 2022 Fri 08 Jul 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed
Sun 10 Jul 2022 Fri 22 Jul 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed
Sun 17 Jul 2022 Fri 29 Jul 2022 £2,875 Guaranteed
Sun 24 Jul 2022 Fri 05 Aug 2022 £2,875
Sun 31 Jul 2022 Fri 12 Aug 2022 £2,875
Sun 07 Aug 2022 Fri 19 Aug 2022 £2,875 Guaranteed
Sun 14 Aug 2022 Fri 26 Aug 2022 £2,875
Sun 21 Aug 2022 Fri 02 Sep 2022 £2,875 Guaranteed
Sun 28 Aug 2022 Fri 09 Sep 2022 £2,925
Sun 04 Sep 2022 Fri 16 Sep 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed
Sun 11 Sep 2022 Fri 23 Sep 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed Closed
Tue 13 Sep 2022 Sun 25 Sep 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed
Sun 18 Sep 2022 Fri 30 Sep 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed
Sun 25 Sep 2022 Fri 07 Oct 2022 £2,925 Guaranteed
Sun 02 Oct 2022 Fri 14 Oct 2022 £2,825 Guaranteed
Sun 09 Oct 2022 Fri 21 Oct 2022 £2,825 Guaranteed
Sun 16 Oct 2022 Fri 28 Oct 2022 £3,025
Sun 02 Apr 2023 Fri 14 Apr 2023 £3,050
Sun 16 Apr 2023 Fri 28 Apr 2023 £3,050
Sun 30 Apr 2023 Fri 12 May 2023 £3,125
Sun 07 May 2023 Fri 19 May 2023 £3,125
Sun 14 May 2023 Fri 26 May 2023 £3,125
Sun 21 May 2023 Fri 02 Jun 2023 £3,125
Sun 28 May 2023 Fri 09 Jun 2023 £3,125
Sun 04 Jun 2023 Fri 16 Jun 2023 £3,125
Sun 11 Jun 2023 Fri 23 Jun 2023 £3,125
Sun 18 Jun 2023 Fri 30 Jun 2023 £3,125
Sun 25 Jun 2023 Fri 07 Jul 2023 £3,125
Sun 02 Jul 2023 Fri 14 Jul 2023 £3,125
Sun 09 Jul 2023 Fri 21 Jul 2023 £3,125
Sun 16 Jul 2023 Fri 28 Jul 2023 £3,075
Sun 23 Jul 2023 Fri 04 Aug 2023 £3,075
Sun 30 Jul 2023 Fri 11 Aug 2023 £3,075
Sun 06 Aug 2023 Fri 18 Aug 2023 £3,075
Sun 13 Aug 2023 Fri 25 Aug 2023 £3,075
Sun 20 Aug 2023 Fri 01 Sep 2023 £3,075
Sun 27 Aug 2023 Fri 08 Sep 2023 £3,125
Sun 03 Sep 2023 Fri 15 Sep 2023 £3,125
Tue 05 Sep 2023 Sun 17 Sep 2023 £3,125
Sun 10 Sep 2023 Fri 22 Sep 2023 £3,125
Tue 12 Sep 2023 Sun 24 Sep 2023 £3,125
Sun 17 Sep 2023 Fri 29 Sep 2023 £3,125
Sun 24 Sep 2023 Fri 06 Oct 2023 £3,125
Sun 01 Oct 2023 Fri 13 Oct 2023 £3,025
Sun 08 Oct 2023 Fri 20 Oct 2023 £3,025
Sun 15 Oct 2023 Fri 27 Oct 2023 £3,025

Contact an expert travel consultant today
for more information or to make a booking

0207 620 8952

Make an enquiry online

Come in and see us: 79 York Road, London, SE1 7NJ


Alternative itineraries and tailor-made trips available.


All prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All information is correct at time of going live, however are subject to change – please confirm all details at time of booking.

All fares are per guest in GBP based on double occupancy unless otherwise noted.

Prices are capacity controlled and are subject to change at any time without notice.

Special offers are subject to availability and can be withdrawn at any time.

For full terms and conditions, please refer to our Terms of Use page.

Could you save more?

Check if you are entitled to additional discounts and savings!

Contact here for more details

Best of France

Expect only the best on one of our favourite France trips, beginning and ending in Paris. Spend the night as a French lord or lady in an elegant Loire Valley château, be as inspired as Cézanne was by the beauty of Provence and visit the playground of Monaco.